You mean there’s a difference? Well yes, there is. And it’s kinda a big deal.
So what is a plant based diet?
A plant based diet sounds pretty self explanatory; a diet based on plants. But it’s more than just that. It’s a diet based on whole plant foods such as veggies, fruits, legumes, grains, nuts and seeds, but also excludes ALL animal products including meat, fish, eggs, dairy, gelatin, honey, and other animal products or byproducts from one’s diet.
Don’t Vegans eat a plant based diet?
Here’s where people get confused. The answer is yes and no. Veganism is a lifestyle. It’s a commitment deeply devoted to animal rights. Vegans not only eliminate all animals products from their diets, but also from their lives. That’s right – no leather, no fur, no wool, no silk, not anything that comes from an animal. No products derived from insects (honey, beeswax) and no cosmetics and other toiletries that may be derived from or tested on animals.
So the difference is … drum roll …
Not all plant based eaters are Vegans. For example, a Vegan might eat a Beyond Meat Burger with a side of french fries. The burger and fries use no animal products, however, they are not considered to be plant based because neither resemble their original plant form.
Vegans live a lifestyle of no animal products; plant based is a diet consisting of whole plant foods and excluding animal products.
So there you have. Veg out plant fans. 🌱